My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I seem to have read somewhere that if you have pressure coming out of where the dip stick goes that you have ring blow by. When you remove the dip stick while the engine is running you should have no pressure coming from this opening, is this true. How much is too much? I have noticed that when I put the tractor under a load quickly there will be a puff of blue smoke come out. When should one consider doing a over haul, I am new to diesel machines. Also is there matching numbers on Yanmars to check to see if the motor matches the rest of the tractor or that it is a bundled together mixture of parts type of tractor? Sorry for all the questions but I know very little about these tractors and I know on this site there are some very knowledgeable people. And thanks for your help.

·
Registered
835 Posts
The puff of blue smoke upon loading the tractor is OK. Just a trait of a diesel engine. I'm attaching a vidio of excessive blowby on a John Deere. You have a vent tube similiar to this. If you look under Mark's 2nd thread here under Domestic and Grey market Yanmar list he has engine #s matched with tractor model #s. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sX_G5Rh1K3g

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Winston for the information. I looked at the list and my YM2000 has a 2TR20A motor which means it is not the motor for the Tractor because mine is a two wheel drive I may have one of those dreaded multiple put to geathers that I have been reading about. Sure wished I had knew this site exsisted before I went Tractor shopping. I have not looked close yet but I don't recall a vent on the out side of the motor. I do get pressure out of the cap when I remove the dip stick, should there be pressure coming out of there?

·
Registered
835 Posts