My Tractor Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Shop Teacher & Proud Dad
243 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Any sugggestions? There is some slop in the pedals when in the "neutral" position. It actually goes faster in reverse.

Can't get the bolts on the pedals below the floorboard to break loose to adjust them. Looks like they are already adjusted so they are at the highest point.

Checked the hydro oil under the seat, it appears to be overfull. It is clean, but way past the full mark. checked it both cold and warm.

The guys that worked for the landscape company I bought it from, said it ran fine. They sent it into JD for service and it goes slower than it did when they took it in.

next step is to take it to dealer in late winter to have it completely gone through.

Hope you guys can help!

thanks!

·
I have G.A.S.
1,567 Posts
I'm far from a hydro expert but I have seen travel limit bolts on the linkages of some. Like a small stove bolt with a wingnut that you can loosen & adjust so that the linkage only travels so far. The last hydro wheelhorse I had, the PO had it set to barely crawl in reverse 'cause his wife kept backing into things when mowing.

·
Registered
148 Posts
tooldad,

I have been following your posts about the X700. Congratulations on the great deal.

The directional pedals have adjustment, directly underneath the RH footwell.

The forward pedal (#15) will pivot on #18 by loosening the two nuts and bolts (#16 & #17). Make sure the pedal extends to its maximum height above the footwell.

If the above does not remedy your problem, you likely have a problem with the remaining linkage to the hydro. I am confident that your problem is external from the hydro because of your reverse speed. Good luck!

The image above was borrowed from JDParts.com . This is the official parts website for John Deere. The website will show the exploded parts view of any JD equipment. Very handy! You may need to register and select your dealer.

·
Registered
2,952 Posts