My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello all...

I'm new to this and humbly ask for advice. I have a X300 with 276 hours and the K46 is giving up the ghost. I have learned that the X300 is the same machine as the X500 except for the 18hp kawi motor, lesser hitch plate, and of course the K46. So, I was considering the RJR (K66 Upgrade Kits) K66 upgrade with the motivation of having a entry level ground engagement capable tractor... a 18HP X500 if you will.

I can do the conversion but am a still learning about what is available to the X300 post conversion. So, my questions are what implements and attachments are other X300/K66 owners using out there and what was required to get them working? Is it safe to assume that anything for the X500 would be usable on the X300? I have seen pull behind rototillers but am not sure how they were powered. I'm looking to use it to farm a .5 acre plot and am interested in a tiller, dethatcher, and bucket. Can I install the hitch plate from an X500 on the X300?

Thank you for the help!

J

·
Registered
667 Posts
Since your transaxle is showing signs of wear at this early age, how have you been using it?

Before I even joined this site, I was a reader of it and read all about the issues of the K46. I was so concerned, I bought a spare one. At that time the cheap K66s were all gone.

That was almost a decade ago. Since then, I have done the math many times. The kit from RJR looks really nice, but it is now really expensive.

I have seen older X500s for sale that are only a little more than what the kit costs (when you include the wheels/tires etc). If you value your time at all, I don't think it is a good deal.

I several times considered it, but the kit and the K66 in general doesn't get you even an X500. No differential lock and the K66 is not as powerful as the K72.