My Tractor Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Rich
2010 Deere X300 42 deck
512 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a hard time checking the gas level on my X300. I haven't had any luck on a gas gauge so another idea is to put some bright colored plastic balls in the tank that will float at the gas level and be seen easier. Think about 1 inch balls would be good.
Any opinions or other ideas?

·
Registered
4,815 Posts
Before you put anything into the tank better be absolutely certain that the material is impervious to, and will not be softened by gasoline and alcohol exposure over a long period of time. Otherwise you could end up with a real mess on your hands.

·
Rich
2010 Deere X300 42 deck
512 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Probably not a good idea. Chances are the plastic will deteriorate and clog your fuel system. I would maybe use a stick/ruler to check the level if that's possible.
No sticking - the tank shape is not good. I've been using the X300 for 12 years now and never ran out of gas, keep filling it up. I checked types of plastic balls and Ploypropylene seems to be gas proof and what they make gas cans out of. Might get some and put one in a jar of gas for a couple weeks as a test.

·
Registered
1,022 Posts
I'd keep doing what you're doing since it's been working that long. It seems there are different ways to make any given kind of plastic, and you don't want a surprise mess as others have mentioned.

I've gone through a couple of different kinds of "gasoline-resistant" rubber gaskets on gas caps for gas cans. Yeah, they weren't very resistant. One disintegrated and fell into the gas in the can; fortunately the pieces were still big enough to fish out.

Deere finally improved that with a fuel gauge on 2016+ X300 and X500.

·
Registered
4,404 Posts