My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I would like to relay this experance little experance I had today with you guys. I went by this little lawn mower shop today that has been on this corner in town for years. I was loooking for a couple of screws for the choke butter fly on my 1200 cub. I was thinking that this should be a very simple little thing. I had gone to lowes and found some #4-40 brass pan head screws yesterday the smallest that thay had. Come to find out last night when I got home that the #4-40 was too big. I need a #3-48. Boy that is small and the class of fit is very tight so thay will not loosen up with vibration. I boke one off removing it. :banghead3 Ok I was pulling in to the parking lot of the lawn mower shop and I see a friend I know that mowes lawns for a living. He goes to the counter and tells them he called and ordered a drive belt for a xyz mower and was told it would be in Tuesday. The guy asked him his name and such to he could find it, no luck. Asked if it might be under another name he told him that no luck. The other guy at sitting at the counter asked what I needed. I showed him the choke pivit rod with one screw in it. Told him that it was off a k301 Kolar motor. He looks a his computer a few seconds, then goes asked the old man that is trying to help my friend. The old man say I will need the ID off the motor to find any parts, I think you will has to buy the whole carb!!!!!:swow: NO THANKS!!!!!Thank you for your time, but I think I will look some more. I know that a new cab if you can get one would be well over a $100.00 I went to a little bolt & screw supply house down the road. Walked in and said I hate to ask this, but do you have any #3-48 brass screws. Well thay said that the brass would be a problem, but thay had some socket head steal ones. Showed me what he had, and asked if I wonted them how may do you need. I told him 6 because thay where I little too long & I would have