My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Most of the comparisons I see between ZTR and tractors say that ZTR generally has a higher top speed. Ignoring the fact that ZTR's are quicker to line up for the next pass, what makes them inherently faster than a tractor? Comparing same size mower deck and same engine, is it merely how each are geared differently? Seems to me most will recommend mowing at less than 5 mph yet, I see ZTR's advertising a mowing speed of 8+ mph. What makes the cut at that speed better than a tractor cutting at the same speed?

·
Registered
1,948 Posts
Not sure as I am brand new to ZT mowers...less than 1 hour on mine so far. Not only are the forward speeds faster, but the blade speeds seem to be higher on the ZT than on my X500 which does a fantastic cut but as you say, at a lot slower forward speed.

Also interested in what folks have to say.

·
Super Moderator
35,878 Posts
Speed! Sorry just had to do that!! :)

Blades spin faster on the decks creating more vacuum so ground speed can be increased and still get a great cut.

·
Premium Member
3,767 Posts
Do the ZTRs not need to obey the same tip-speed limit rules as normal decks? Maybe a pulley could be changed, to speed up the blades on a tractor deck.

·
Registered
2,302 Posts
Deck design is the biggest factor by far for. And at a certain point big HP factors in as well. And not all ztr's are created equal by any means. So just becuase a certain ztr has a top speed of say 9 mph doesn't mean it will product a quality cut at those higher speeds. Very few ztr's on the market can.

·
22,781 Posts
ZTRs have one purpose, to mow lawns. GTs have multiple purposes, some requiring low speed and high axle torque which is not available to the higher speed and lighter ZTRs.