My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Need some help... First off... New to the tractor world. Bought an old 9n from guy next door... Ran last last summer and fall... Ok... Sat all winter... Been trying to get it going for two days and think I may have really messed something up... After continous tries I eventually ran the battery down... Tried jumping several times after that... Seemed to not turn over like it did last fall... Decided to try a new battery... New battery in starter barely turn it over... Then noticed the l shaped bracket on the solinoid where connecting to starter housing was smoldering and glowing hot???? I'm a total rookie and am wondering if I toasted the starter or if something bigger has happened internally in the engine not allowing it to crank... I need help.... Was getting spark but no fuel to the plugs... I had figured it wasn't cranking fast enough to draw fuel through manifold... Anyway... Thinking I need a new starter... Help appreciated...

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
What would cause it?

Here's pic... It's the I did pull the coil and cap for an inspection... Could I have screwed something up reinstalling...

Pic won't load on my phone....

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
:MTF_wel2:

If 6v it is a positive ground..12v is a negative ground..What battery did you install??
Same that came in it...

Exide model?? 700 CA 12volt... Not at home to give more details...

What does negative ground refer to.. Assume im not grounded somehow on the negative terminal???

Again.. sorry for the ignorance... I have little electrical background...

·
Retired MTF Admin
26,564 Posts
Same that came in it...

Exide model?? 700 CA 12volt... Not at home to give more details...

What does negative ground refer to.. Assume im not grounded somehow on the negative terminal???

Again.. sorry for the ignorance... I have little electrical background...