My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
309 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
By way of background, I've had a home weather station since the 80s, and have been putting my data on the Internet since 1998. (SLOweather.com) I'm an admin at WxForum.net, a weather forum similar to this one. Over the years, I've installed well over a dozen Davis weather stations, in such remote locations as mountain tops, light houses, orchards, and a 350 acre ranch with 5 stations.

My home station includes a Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus (with solar and UV sensors), 2 consoles, 2 temperature stations (spa water, and cabin/wine cellar interior), 2 temperature/humidity stations (down in the woods and at the foot of the vineyard slope), a soil moisture/temperature station in the vineyard, and a leaf wetness/temperature station that measures leaf wetness and the internal temperature of the compost pile.

In the interest of full disclosure, I'm not a weather station reseller, although I can recommend the best places to buy them. I am the developer of WeatherElement.com, a way to put personal weather station data on the web without running a computer 24/7. Currently we're testing a new solar/cellular weather station that can be placed almost anywhere.

So if you have any interest in installing your own home, cabin, farm, orchard, or vineyard weather station, ask away...

I'm sure Mark/Ohio will chime in too. He's also a member of WxForum.net, and invited me to join MyTractorForum when this weather board started up.

Mark, maybe this could be made sticky if it takes off.

Chris

·
Registered
7,945 Posts
I am so happy that I can read your weather post, wait 5 days and know what to expect in Virginia.

That system is 3X more accurate than the local TV stations!! :dunno:

I barely keep the batteries fresh in the digital thermometer, I would be unable to manage more equipment.