My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
BMW guy with a JD
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First: I'm a complete tractor newbie, so please be gentle!

I'm considering taking delivery of a used 2008 x304. It has 250 hours on the clock.

Is there anywhere I can read up on what the expected maintenance windows are for this model? What it might be needing at about this time? Previous owner was a landscaper. I believe he did all his own maintenance, so no JD service records. That said, he seems like a good guy, and I'm sure he knew what he was doing with it to keep it running well for a small business.

I'm handy with a wrench and electronics both, so I'm not scared about jumping into a big ol' pile of DIY, but this would be my first foray into lawn tractor land.

I'd also welcome any general comments about whether or not that tractor / year / hours screams "stay away!" or is decent. It would be used for mowing my 1 acre with lots of oak trees (acorn droppings), which is mostly a mild grade with 1 spot of steeper grade. I'm already aware this is the K46 trans model, but I believe it should still be OK for my application.

Thanks!

·
Super Moderator
16,690 Posts
Is this what Your Looking for http://manuals.deere.com/cceomview/OMM158184_E9/Output/Index.html?tM=FR

Service Intervals
Break-In after 8 Hours
• Change engine oil and filter.

Break-In after 50 Hours
• Change transaxle oil and filter - X360.

Every 50 Hours or Annually
• Lubricate front axle pivot and axle spindles.

• Lubricate mower spindles, pivot points, and lift pedal.

• Lubricate rear U-Joints - 4-Wheel Steer Models.

• Lubricate power steering cylinder ends - X360.

Every 100 Hours or Annually
• Change engine oil and filter.

• Replace spark plugs.

• Replace air filter elements, both foam and paper.

• Replace fuel filter.

• Clean engine cooling fins.

• Check mower belt.

• Sharpen / replace blades.

• Clean bottom side of deck.

• Check tire pressure.

Every 200 Hours