My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here. Looking to mow 4 acres and garden 1 acre using ground engaging impliments such as a brinly plow. Will they do what I want I was originally looking at a new craftsman pgt 9000 and was told that it might not hold up with the ground engaging attachments. Any pros or cons? Do they both have a pto? What are areas of concern to look at when buying one of these used.

Thanks,
Dan

·
The Magnificent
20,952 Posts
You have two very different machines listed for comparison.

The 318 had an optional 2000 RPM PTO. Not terribly useful on other than the JD tiller and trail mower made for that PTO. It is a two cylinder air cooled gasoline engine. I have a category 0 3 point hitch on mine. It is certainly up to the tasks you outline as I perform those and many others. It has a single speed rear end and a hand operated drive control. It has 2 spools of remote hydraulics, a hydraulic operated deck lift. You can get a decent 318 for $1800 though several perfectly serviceable units have recently been had for less than $1000.
http://www.deere.com/en_US/homeowners/products_non_current/318.html?link=enav

The 455 is a liquid cooled diesel with a 2 speed rear end and a foot operated hydro control. I believe its rear PTO is the standard 540 RPM. If you can find one for under $5000 you are doing well.
http://www.deere.com/en_US/homeowners/products_non_current/455.html?link=enav

Parts availability for either is good.

Problems to look for are high hours, oil leaks, noises, sloppy hydrostatic operation, clunky operation of the deck lift.

·
JD RULES
1,026 Posts
The 455 is a liquid cooled diesel with a 2 speed rear end and a foot operated hydro control.
Hi D-Dogg ,

I'm assuming the 2 speed rear end is a typo on your part ???

Later,x595

·
The Magnificent
20,952 Posts
More like brain fard. Should have said diff lock. Was thinking about a 420.

Thanks for catching that.

·
Small Engine Tech