My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ive got a c 85 that i love. i finally got around to putting the deck on it today and aout halfway through my yard, the 8 speed kicked itself out of high range. it has never done this before but i didnt think anything about it. then it did it again, i put it in low and it was good but later it started popping out of low when i was holding the clutch or going down hill. now it is stuck in high range and wont come out. is this a common problem or something more. i have never worked on a tranny before and was wondering if anyone could help me.

·
Oldbie
1,605 Posts
All I know is one of mine is stuck in hi range also.
It comes from shifting while the tractor is still in motion.
And is a big No No. I do not know why your tranny would
suddenly start popping out of gear like that. Perhaps it is
related.

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
is there anything that can be done or does the tranny need to be taken apart.

·
Oldbie
1,605 Posts
I know that it was described to me by a fellow that had a similar
situation. Yes...the tranny has to be split and there is a plate in there
that in this other fellows situation had got bent trying to shift while
the tractor was in motion. I do not recall enough of the story to be
specific. Better to do a search for related topics until you find it.

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
well i tore it apart and that is exactly what happened only worse. the high low plate broke off of the arm and one needle bearing blew apart. i am going to try and find a place around here to have it fixed otherwise i will buy a new axle.

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
does anyone have or know where i can find a diagram for this tranny so i can figure out which parts i need.

·
Oldbie
1,605 Posts
Plug your tractor numbers into partstree.com I believe that will get
you your tranny number if you do not already have it.