My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
On Sat. I was in the local Carquest and they have the free magazine "Auction Time" that advertises upcoming equipment auctions - tractors, excavators, cars, trucks...you name it, they probably have something. I noticed a Kubota BX25 listed that peaked my curiosity. A smaller TLB like that would be handy around my property.

I have ZERO experience with auctions of this scale; buying and selling small stuff on Ebay, yes...bidding on a tractor 2 states away over the internet, not even close.

I'm curious if anyone has acquired a tractor via an auction like this? Did you get a deal? Did you buy a headache with undisclosed problems? Just curious how it turned out. They always say that you should inspect the item before bidding, so I've wondered if people are traveling all over to inspect equipment, are people rolling the dice to see what they get, or do these things mostly get sold to locals?

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,649 Posts
Me too. I’ve even made some lower bids to see that I could. But so far no purchases. I have noticed there’s a lot of differences between sellers when it comes to payment and how soon you have to pick it up before they start charging you by the day. I’ve kept my searches within a reasonable driving distance so far. My wife thinks I’ve spent enough on “things.”
:tango_face_grin: :tango_face_angel:

Not much different than Craigslist or some of the other places. You have to look close at the pictures, ask a lot of questions, then live with what you buy and hopefully not spend too much fixing anything you missed.

·
Registered
1,143 Posts
I watch and bid on AuctionTime, I think it gives a more realistic assessment of fair value that Craigslist or Marketplace.