My Tractor Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
413 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first year gardening and I have a problem with my tomatoes. I have planted earlygirls, romas, and cherry tomatoes. None of them are setting. The plants themselves look great, they are huge, which makes me think I have too much nitrogen / fertilized too much. I did apply a treatment of miracle grow about a month ago because they were not growing. Since then they have taken off (vine wise), but no setting. Additionally, last year I tilled in a few yards of horse manure.

Some other info: They get full sun from 5am to 10pm right now. Our weather here has been very cool this season. Last few days have been close to 50 in the morning. I am suspect about the weather, but my family members close to me are producing with no problems.

So, any of you "more experienced" gardens have any suggestions, or I am done for this year with tomatoes? I will most certainly stop the Miracle Grow, but do you think trying to leech out the soil a bit with some intense watering will help?

·
Father to Triplets + 1
1,034 Posts
I would not try to drown out the N2, all you'll do is drown the plants. Could be too much N2, hard to say. If it is too much N2 once its gone the plants will start fruiting. Did the plants make blossoms? Maybe there is a pollenator (ie. bees) problem in your area. You did not plant seeds from grocery store tomatos did you? They are most likely hybrids and would not produce. Best bet is to call your county extension service and ask the master gardener.

·
Registered
413 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·