My Tractor Forum banner
  • We have a new contest celebrating your backyard. Sponsored by Walmart, its your chance to win a $400 gift just in time for the 4th of July! HERE Contest Ends on the 30th.

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
146 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an 1966 Chief 800 with an 8hp kohler, K series K181, serial # 8065750spec code # 30290D. I studied the Kohler tech manual but I cannot find the location of the timing marks to set the points. Anyone point me in the right direction?

·
Plain Old MTF Member
216 Posts
It's been many years since I worked on a K series but timing marks are for reassembly
of the engine. I don't believe "a mark" is required for setting points. I could be wrong, but the points are set in relation to the position of the piston...TDC of the compression stroke.
I hope someone here can help you more than I can.

·
Registered
2,528 Posts
The timming is set by point gap; Small == retard ;; Large == advance; We set tha gap by the engines sound, This can be done while the engine is running.. It is dangerious, Be care full;; but it can be done. We set it at a little above the idle position, It has worked for our shop.

·
Registered
402 Posts
the timeing marks should be on the bach edge of fly wheel, there should be a small hole in the engine cover. there two marks one mark is top dead center indicated with a T.the other mark is about a quater inch before tdc. these marks are very lite may need to wipe some chalk or white paint to be visible.I use a powered test light across the opoints,as I turn flywhell toward tdc,I want the test light to go out when the advance mark is in center of acess hole

·
Registered
14 Posts
I agree with Melvin. That is the best way to set the timing on a K series Kohler. I use an analog ohm meter and set the points so they just open when the advance mark (usually S or SP) is at the window. If you do it carefully, it works perfectly every time (verified with a timing light).

·
Registered
146 Posts