My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
life is good
1,048 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
was messing around with a tig/stick welder I picked up a couple days ago.
It's a Lincoln percission mig 225, got a heck of a deal and couldn't turn it down.
Now I haven't got any pics but my welds look more like a mig weld, this is my first time useing a tig. Would yhis mean I'm moving to slow?
The pulse is off and I've got it set on AC with the Amps at 80 and the seting on penetration more than cleaning. Didn't like the auto setting.
Any ideas? I'll get some pics tomorrow if not sooner.
Thanks.:trink39:

·
Banned
297 Posts
dcen for steel and stainless,argon shielding,maybe 25-30 cfh,,tungsten probably ewth-2,sharp tip,,than you gotta figure out tungsten size[maybe 3/32],,collets,noozzles[cups],,gas lenses,,maybe that helps a little??

·
life is good
1,048 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ok so dc negitive, I'm using argon but need to turn it up.
I'm useing 3/32 ewth tungsten.
Was thinking about picking up some gas lense consumables, didn't know about them when I got the welder.
Thanks

·
life is good
1,048 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Oh yeah, I also switched to a smaller diameter rod and that helped a little as well as slowing down to heat the puddle up more.

·
Banned
297 Posts
I havn't done any tig welding for years,,so you'll need to talk to somebody who does to get the latest and greatest stuff,,one place I've ordered stuff out of lately is,,www.ramweldingsupply.com,,,they have much tig stuff,and ship pretty quick,,plus you can browse and see what all is offered.

·
Registered
149 Posts
was messing around with a tig/stick welder I picked up a couple days ago.
It's a Lincoln percission mig 225, got a heck of a deal and couldn't turn it down.
Now I haven't got any pics but my welds look more like a mig weld, this is my first time useing a tig. Would yhis mean I'm moving to slow?