My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
140 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This aint it and I will have to wait until tomorrow to get real pictures an SN.

http://belleville.kijiji.ca/c-buy-a...on-8hp-10hp-Garden-Tractor-W0QQAdIdZ212514559

I've been told that the starter is bad on the one I am going to look at. My question (I have zero experience with these tractors) is if they are suitable for using in a medium duty capacity.. rototilling and snowblowing. Do they have any external hydraulic ports?

Are restoration parts (decals, bushings) available?

thanks,
-ron

·
Registered
2,034 Posts
The MF 7 &8's where lawn tractors, heavy duty lawn tractor to be sure but not for rototilling. They did have snow blowers and frt blades for them. No hydralic ports or at least Dad's didn't have and it was hydro drive. Saw a pic of a young boy on his MF8 with a chrome exhaust stack and rear ags, snowblower of the frt, that he and his Dad had fixed up together, the grin on his face was priceless!

·
Registered
396 Posts
That ad you posted has been listed on and off for a year now, I first saw it the price was $1100.

·
Registered
140 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
the massey that I am going to look at is from my Dad the price (to me) is free. It was one that was used to mow my grandmother's lawn until she passed away. It has been sitting in Dad's barn ever since gathering dust. If I don't get it, it won't go anywhere..

The other 2 options he has are an old cub cadet (70 or 100) and an early 70's JD110, both need motors (I put a rod through the 110 block)

The lawn tractor that I would really like to get my hands on is my father-in-laws JD400, buy he won't part with it.

thanks,
-ron

·
Registered
2,034 Posts