My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Inveterate Putterer
2,958 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
You can listen to this vid to get a sense of what the symptoms are. When it runs, a little choke makes it run better, but not perfect. That said, I can mow with it just fine.

I have zero experience with this engine. It is a Briggs Vanguard 16 HP V-twin.

·
Registered
593 Posts
Do you have a air adjustment on this carb? Sounds like it's running a little lean, the choke making it run better is a clue to that. A little less air may help it. If you do not have any adjustments, your only hope is to clean the carb out the best you can like the other poster said. If you get it running good, stay away from that ethanol fuel. Hunt high and low, more than likely someone near you sells non-ethanol fuel.

·
2,115 Posts
Definitely a carb rebuild is in order.....you may get away with removing the carb and ultrasonicaly cleaning it and trying to use very small drill bits or wire to clean out all the passages I am pretty sure that the carb has been superseded and although the replacements available are expensive, not really an exact fit..there is a guy in Maryland that I dealt with a few years ago that was living in Maryland at the time...he may have moved, but I had gotten his contact info by calling B&S ..this guy can rebuild these older carbs very inexpensively ...PM me if you want his contact info

·
Inveterate Putterer
2,958 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Franklin2, that's kinda where I got flummoxed. There are two adjustments. one is a simple idle screw that acts on the throttle linkage. The other located very near the bottom of the carb so I'm guessing a high speed adjustment. Turning it has no discernable impact.

This tractor ran well when i got it about a year ago. So logic would seem to suggest crud in the carb.

·
Inveterate Putterer
2,958 Posts
Discussion Starter #6

·
Registered
1,767 Posts