My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Noob here - 1st post.

I just obtained an STX38 Black Deck (for free - from Dad), but has a weak hydro. I have no idea how many hours. When I go up any incline, the unit starts shuddering and slows substantially. If steep enough, it won't make any forward progress and shudders pretty good. I have checked the drive belt tension and even adjusted the idler to "increase" the tension - no effect.

It's the TT K55 unit. I pulled the hydro & drained the oil, which came out very dark with some "silvery" streaks (eek). I put in ~.7 qts of 15w40 and ~ 1 qt of 30w, both Dino-Oil (not synthetic). Didn't seem to change anything.

Now onto questions:

1. Are there any replacement/alternative Hydros that might be more heavy duty than the K55 that can be retrofitted to the STX38 (relatively easily)?
2. Anyplace to get a new K55 at a reasonable price?
3. Anyone got a used unit?

I realize that the STX38 is one of the lower end models, but I want to hang onto it and, other than the Hydro, it's in quite good shape.

Any suggestions?

Thanks.

Jim B.

·
Administrator
5,678 Posts
welcome....Also a STX38 owner........they are good machines.....sorry, can't help with that hydro....mine works fine.....probably jinxed it now.....lol

·
Loves Orange and White
34 Posts
Your hydro is worn out, recently rebuilt my hydro gear 312-0800 for $200 in new parts. Not very hard if mechanicaly inclined. E-bay may help with a used unit but it may not be any better than the one you have.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Rats. I was hoping there was a substitute Hydro rather than having to use the TT K55. A substitute TT that might be "more available"...

Argh...