My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an STX 38 that has started giving me a problem. I have been reading here a lot and have seen some good ideas, but I would appreciate some reassurance before I begin to buy parts. I am not a complete novice, but I am not very proficient with small engines.

It started by shutting off after about 30 minutes of usage (no fire checked at the plug). A couple of days later it started and worked again for several mowings. The other day it finally died. I have not been able to get it started again.

To understand my readings to crank = starter turning flywheel over

If there is a safety problem (seat, pto, park brake, or other) the mower will not crank.

At this point I am thinking the coil is bad. Any help is appreciated before I spend any cash shot gunning the problem.

Thanks Ken

·
Registered
96 Posts
Very possible Ken.

Disconnect the plug wire and use an in line spark tester (tester connected to ground, not plug) and disconnect the armature kill wire and see what you get.

If you have an intermittent spark due to heat, this will not necessarily tell you (well, unless you test it when it stopped running warm), but it may give you an idea if it is in the kill circuit perhaps.

More than likely however, it does read as if you may have a coil that has just given up. But you never know.

Good luck.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks but I do not know where the armature kill wire is on this machine. Can you give me a bit more information of how the armature kill circuit works.

·
JD318
990 Posts
If you didn't have spark, I'd say coil. Not sure if there is a kill wire on the STX38?

·
Registered
96 Posts
Pull the shroud off the engine (if you haven’t already) and find the ignition armature / coil. There should be a small single wire going to the rear of the coil. I want to say a white wire labeled 940?

Disconnect it and test for spark.