My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am not very good with wiring and electical stuff I was wondering how to test the solenoid and ignition switch on a scotts lawnmower it has a 17hp briggs intek engine, if I turn the key on and put a screwdriver across solenoid it will start, but not when I turn the key, I have a volt meter I just don't know how to check it out, thanks

·
Super Moderator
29,527 Posts
first thing to do is check the safeties. most of them will not allow it to turn over if one is bad. use a screw driver or a jumper cable from the post on teh solenoid that comes from the battery and jumper to teh small post. if it spins up, you either have a bad ignition switch, blown fuse, broken/loosen wire/connection, or a safety not engaged properly.

verify the seat switch is functioning as desired, brake/clutch switch, and that the PTO is OFF and it's safety is working.

·
Administrator
20,933 Posts
Does the unit make any noise (i.e., clicking, etc) when you turn the key in an attempt to start it?

·
Registered
156 Posts
Sounds to me that your screwdriver diagnosis pretty much limits problem to:

1) One or more Safety Switch parameter not satisfied.
2) If not above, then defective solenoid or ignition switch

·
Just passing through
8,419 Posts
Check your battery FIRST...;)

Put your load meter on it and see if it still has the juice to do its job

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
the battery should be good because when i put the screwdriver across the solenoid it will start up.

·
Administrator
20,933 Posts
OK. Have someone sit in the operators seat. Have the machine ready to start. In neutral, brake on, etc. You have your volt meter. Put the switch to DCV, pointing to "20" or something along those lines. Not 200, not .2, etc. You want to check with the setting approx to what you are looking for.