My Tractor Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks: looking for help on my tractor. I use it for plowing my driveway and it began running rough last year. I use Stabil in my gas mixed to order.
It runs rough in that it doesn't have much power and is constantly raising and lowering it's rpm via the lever that probably adjusts air intake.
My air cleaner is clean. I put in a new spark plug J8C gapped at .030 and there is no change.
Any ideas?
I restore 55-57 chevies as a hobby but have little knowledge of small engines.
Thanks
John

·
Registered
870 Posts
c57

I am no expert, but I would start by checking out the carb & fuel system.

Does it run "better" with the choke partially closed?

If you remove the carburetor "bowl" , is the bowl clean, or does it appear to have film or dirt in the bottom?

Does it currently have a fuel filter? Has it been changed recently?

Does it have a fuel pump?

my "wild a** guess" is that the carb needs to be cleaned. Even with using a fuel preservative, the newer (and "improved") ethanol fuel blends seem to clog carbs if the fuel is allowed to sit at all.

Check it out and let us know what you find. Your answers will help us to direct your efforts.

·
Tractor hoarder/collector
2,456 Posts
im guessing dirt somewhere...uve got an air passage blocked off somewhere....it could have started crudding up before the stabil was used...

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thanks for the quick replies.
It runs a tad better with the choke "worked." Not good enough to plow snow but I can run it up and down the driveway.

Fuel filter? Is there one in a stock configuration? This thing is original as it sits.
How do I go about cleaning the fuel system?
I guess I'll need a gasket kit?
New J8C spark plug.
Should I run Lucas fuel system cleaner or something that easy?

I have the owners manual #4978R.2.7.73

·
Registered
378 Posts