My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I am new to the MTF and I have a couple of questions I was really hoping to get some help with. I have a 1951 Gravel Model L that has been in my family for about 40 years that I doing a bit of a restoration. It hasn't run in about 15 year but from what i can tell it is pretty solid and everything is there to get it running again. I was born long after the Model L's stopped being manufactured so I am learning what I can from youtube, online manuals, and trial and error.

My question is just regarding the engines themselves. Mine is the 5 hp model. Later models came in 6 hp and 7.6 hp I understand. What is the difference between these engines? Is it the same cylinder, bore, and stroke? Would someone be able to give me a quick and dirty explanation of how the original 5 hp evolved into the higher hp models? And are they interchangeable?

Thanks a lot.

·
Parts collector
2,769 Posts
:MTF_wel: Lots of info here.

·
Premium Member
4,104 Posts
Welcome Digger!

Short story: The gravely T head engine was the same basic configuration throughout its life. Same bore/stroke, same valve train, same mag ignition, etc. The 6.6 model increased RPM, and had better cooling. There was an increase in the capacity of the oil pump. The 7.6 model increased RPM a little more, had a different head, and a slightly larger venturi in the carb.

That's really about it.

Not sure what you mean by interchangeable. The bolt pattern from the case to the transmission never changed, nor did the primary drive gear. So if you're asking can you find a newer engine and bolt it up to your older tranmission, the answer is yes. You might need to replumb oil lines etc, depending on what oil system your older machine has. You might also need to fiddle the induction system, as that evolved over the years as well.