My Tractor Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I'm new to mytractorforum and am very happy to find a Snapper forum.

Of course, I have a question. And a story. I have a model M280917B that I love. I bought it used in 02 I'd never had a problem with it until this spring, when I couldn't get it to start. I took it to a local dealer and long story short I got back my mower without being repaired (my choice, someone ever tried to sell you a $300.00 carburetor?) and without some of it's parts (not my choice). I've had all the arguments with my former dealer -magic, thieving mice, etc- and have fixed the engine myself.

I went to Snapper's site and got the manuals, then to Briggs for the engine manual. One of the parts missing was the drive disk. The one with the rubber around it. I ordered one along with the paper thrust washer and the plate to hold it all together. Here's my question.

Is the driven disc suppose to be able to rotate independently from the hub after everything is bolted together? I've got at least 1/8 inch play. Since I'm not the one that took it apart I don't know if that's right. Somehow it doesn't seem right. But maybe that's the smooth part of the smooth clutch :confused: .

Thank you all ahead of time. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
368 Posts
You really need the old disk to compare it with. If you check my most recent post in this forum you'll see I encountered the same problem. I wound up putting my old disk back on, as there are two types, with an inside brake lining and without. Check my name "Rescuemo" and look at the thread I started on this topic. I got some good replies, and I'm trying to figure this out, too! Lol.

·
Senior MTF Poster
13,553 Posts
You will have some slop, play, with the "Easy Start Clutch" and it will "free wheel" when pressure is not on it. I'd say you are OK as long as you have the liner inside the rubber tired drive wheel.

Walt Conner

·
Registered