My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I recently purchased the SEW 1250 Kit using a briggs 16 hp vanguard. I'm a machinist, not really a fabricator. I thought buying this kit was going to be a great time saver, only needing to tweak a few things and be done. The directions tell you clearly that some slight modifications may be required, but you don't need to be a mechanic to get it done. This kit is a disaster... I would have been much better off starting from scratch, as many on here have done.

I would have posted the results here in a different (oh well) manner, but the attitude they give me when I asked for help makes me boil. They claim they have sold over 1500 of this kit alone, and have only had a couple minor issues.
(I've watched their inventory list "3 kits available", for over a year, until I ordered one. Now their list shows 2...)

So before I share some of my "challenges", I ask, who has one? Any issues?
I will add some pictures later, showing some of the work and steps I had to do.

When I got the kit, it had an oil filter on the block, and a crazy, zig-zag oil drain pipe, that was actually loose and seeping oil at the block. It was supposed to let you drain the oil without dumping it on the motor mount plates.
Either way, neither of these had a dream of actually fitting in the frame. While I had the engine sitting near the mounts, i noticed that the stub shaft was over an inch too long, and not machined back nearly enough for the sheave. Only 1 of the 3 belts could line up. The front of the supplied motor mount plates hit the "L" channel where your rubber mounts are. Also, there was very little explaination of the wires, and an extra grey wire hanging off with nothing mentioned in the booklet.