My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Landscaping Nut
1,362 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How do you measure hydraulic hose assemblies. I've got to replace two hoses to power a tiller and need to know how to define the diameter.

Is it by the outside diameter as measure the outer outside thread diameter or is it the inside bore diameter. Also how about the quick release couplings. The ones on it now are stepped up/down using galvanized plumbing fittings among other things.

Thanks

·
Premium Member
1,307 Posts
Let me give you a few points for your project. I'm a mechanical design engineer and have spent a bit of time designing hydraulic systems on heavy equipment.

As to your first question, pipe sizes don't align accurately with anything anymore. The ID of pipe used to match with the ID of schedule 40 pipe (not fittings). My current charts show it being closer to that for schedule 80 pipe now. For an accurate check, you need to cross reference to a chart. This link shows one good set of measurements.
http://www.fairburyfastener.com/xdims_pipe_threads.htm

If this machine has been cobbled before, you may want to check the ports carefully and make sure that they were set up for pipe. I've seen people cram pipe fittings into other types of ports because they didn't / couldn't take the time to do the job right. I have a fitting identification kit that can turn in really handy. If you work on a lot of misc. machinery, you may want to get one. It's made by Eaton / Aeroquip. The book that comes with it is very detailed and free to download. Here is the link.
http://www.eatonhydraulics.com/products/pdfs/fc/e-srov-ts009-e.pdf

I hope that this helps. Best of luck.

·
Premium Member
1,307 Posts
A couple of other points you may want to consider if you don't have exact hoses to copy.