My Tractor Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey everyone! I am new to Simplicity and pretty much GTs in general so I need some help.

I am trading a 2003 Kawasaki Bayou 250 atv, in hopes of finding a GT. I had a guy offer an older Simplicity with snow blade. I am waiting to find out what year it is. (Update- he said mid 80's with a 19 hp K twin- I assumed it was 17 hp since it was a 7117 but maybe I was wrong)

He said it is NOT hydrostatic, what else should I be looking for. I am looking for a tractor to mow, plow and till with, possibly add a lift as well.

Only pic I have, not the greatest.

Attachments

· Registered
63 Posts
Same tractor I have. AFAIK mine is hydrostatic, not belt driven. They're pretty heavy duty machines and should be able to handle everything you mentioned.

I'm sure there are others on here with more info than me though....

John

· Registered
427 Posts
It probably had a new motor at some point in its life. The 7117's shipped with 17hp Kohlers I believe. The model number does correspond to hp, my 7116 has a 16hp briggs.
A new engine is not necessarily bad, unless you're looking for a purely original machine. As long as it's spec'd at or above the original you're fine if not better off.

It looks like a nice machine, but as a general rule its a lot easier to buy something that has as many attachments as you think you need included with it than to try and hunt them down. Especially with stuff like the tiller, which needs a linkage on the tractor that never seems to be with tillers sold separately.
I suspect you'll want a hydro as well, as those (usually?) have a hydrolic lift for the deck and rear implement. Tilling with a hydro is also nicer.

btw, manuals are available from http://www.simplicitymfg.com/manuals/ - not that the hammerwall link doesn't work, but its easier to get stuff directly from the maker when available

· Registered
153 Posts