My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Good Evenng

Working on the neighbors 3414H and have an electrical issue.
This mower was bought used, and the P.O. cobbled every wire on the tractor (including the high tension plug wire). The voltage regulator was fried and the generator was putting out full voltage all the time. The regulator was replaced with a used unit. The mag and ignition switch are new.
I re-wired the tractor, endedup replacing the dash with a newer piece that has the amp guage instead of the idiot light.
The engine (14 H.P. Briggs) starts up and runs strong. It was used for about a week, then it started to miss and finally died. The problem is that it keeps frying the circuit breaker (20 AMP).
What would cause this? Voltage regulator? How do you trouble shoot this?
Thanks to all who respond.:thanku:

·
ordinary average guy
1,521 Posts
im not a pro but sounds like a short grounding out to me. what else would fry a circuit breaker ?

·
Master Service Technician
748 Posts
I would start by identifying the charging system on the engine first and take it from there. What do you have for wires coming out from under the flywheel? Is it a black and white wire with white connector? a single red wire with a green connector? we need to first determine if you have an AC alternator that is unregulated...etc..

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Good Evening

The tractor was wired as per an owners manual for a 3416H. There are no electrical accesories.
There are a total of three wires form the mag; the high tension lead to the spark plug, a ground (black), and the the lead to the points/condensor (white).
Unfortunatly, the site with the diagram will not open for me.
Thanks to all.

·
Senior Tinkerer
1,577 Posts
Good Evening

The tractor was wired as per an owners manual for a 3416H. There are no electrical accesories.