My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here...

The manual says I need to remove the deck to sharpen the blades...cant I just jack the thing up, secure it with stands, and creeper underneath to remove the blades?

Also, what method is recommended? I dont know how hard the steel is...will a standard metal file be enough, or should I break out the Dremel?

And my neighbor says if I dont have any large dings that require removing a good bit of metal, as long as I keep in mind to remove about the same from each side, I dont need to worry about balancing.

Thoughts...comments?

Thanks!

-Chris

·
Banned
1,493 Posts
I grind my blade edges to a sharp point with a 5 inch hand grinder.
I might be in the minority here, but I don't care.
I take off my deck every week, after every mowing, so it is no big deal for me to sharpen the blades.

cant I just jack the thing up, secure it with stands, and creeper underneath to remove the blades?
If that is what works for you, go for it:trink39:
On the balancing thing, stick a screw driver(round of cource) in the mounting hole and see what end of the blade is heavier.
If the blade stays level, you are ok.

·
Banned
297 Posts
Well I'm assuming you are talking lawn mower here,you got to take the blades off to sharpen them[least I always do],you might be able to take blades off without removing deck,don't know,one lawnmower I can one I got to take deck off.
I sharpen on a bench type grinder,but a drimmel would work,a file would work,a hand grinder would work.

Balancing ain't a big deal,should be plenty of info on here as to how people does it,I just take a small rod,stick it in hole and hold it out to see if one end is heavier than other,than you grind a little on heavy side and recheck,but you buddys right,it probably won't be out of balance if you sharpen it even on both ends.

·
JD Green all the way~!
1,312 Posts