My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
229 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I'm new to tractor ownership (took me 36yrs of whining & saving to get my first N) I'm primarily moving dirt leveling about an acre and digging it from the back 2 acres. I don't have filled tires. Or weights.

My questions are: Is Calcium (which evidently destroys rims over time) installed as a powder? Or is it a saltwater type solution that fills about 4/5 of the tire?

I heard someone talking about using beet juice....

TSC sells a kit from Slime where you can use a garden hose to fill your rims with water (Again I'm assuming you wouldn't fill them completely) but then you've got that freezing issue - that'd make for an erratic ride over the winter.

Is there a reason I don't use a 50/50 antifreeze mix and partially fill the rim?

Are Rim weights the way to go for traction?

Should I get suitcases and fill them with concrete to hang on a mount at the back - KIDDING, but what about suitcase weights?

Or, do I just keep using the thing and tell the kids not to report wheelies to my wife? Yes, I know weight for traction and weight on the front end are different animals, when I get the front bumper on it may help with that wheelie thing.

Someone set me straight!

·
Registered
5,594 Posts
Calcium is a liquid. It is heavier than water.
Beet juice is also heavier than water.
50/50 antifreeze is lighter than water.
Water can freeze.
Suitcase weights are cantilevered behind the axle (or in front) and serve a slightly different purpose.

·
Registered
40 Posts