My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just got a new Kubota BX2380. I am totally new to tractors in general and have no real experience towing/hauling things with chain. Sorry if I use the wrong terms and thanks in advance for the help!

Yesterday I was dragging a large section of a fallen tree and the end of it would periodically cut into the lawn and tear it up as I moved it across our property. I had an anchor shackle in the small hitch hole (?, the 1/2" hole on the frame of the tractor, that I would pin a dump cart to), and my chain fed through that shackle. So the chain was very low to the ground, hence the end of the log catching the lawn as I dragged.

I'm pretty sure I could use the 3 pt hitch somehow to raise up the chain (and one end of the log) so I'm dragging it across the lawn more than through it. But I wasn't sure what part of the hitch to connect my shackle/chain to for best results. The center upper arm (top link?) doesn't move with the hydraulics, and the lower lift arms don't get that high even when the hydraulics are as high as they'll go.

Can I disconnect the side links from the lower lift arms, and connect shackles/chain directly to the upper lift arms? I was nervous that would essentially bypass the swaybars and I'd risk damaging the upper lift arms if I snagged what I was towing and jerked the tractor. I could put two shackles on, one on each arm, that might mitigate that risk.

Thanks all! - Bob

·
5,812 Posts
Kind of hard to picture what you are describing...but I think that your best bet is that you just go to an open area and play with it and see what reacts and how when you are using different controls ...you don't want to bend the arms on the 3 Point...you just got it...it is going to last a long time...take your time with it and just take it slowly.....too many things get messed up when people get in a hurry or impatient with new equipment

·
Super Moderator
30,876 Posts