My Tractor Forum banner
  • We have a new contest celebrating your backyard. Sponsored by Walmart, its your chance to win a $400 gift just in time for the 4th of July! HERE Contest Ends on the 30th.

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Citizen of Earth
15,901 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been scrounging materials for a couple of years for a "free" shed. I originally was going to use plywood and asphault shingles for the roof, but those are hard to find free, and plywood prices have skyrocketed. So I've been considering a metal roof. I can scrounge the material for the framing, but I have no experience with metal roofing. What is a good choice to use and how do I fasten it down? Can I mix metal and fiberglass panels to allow in light? And how well does this type of roof do in snow country? We get a typical snow storm dumping 6"-12" 5 or more times a winter with the occassional 12"-24" storm and the rare 24"-36" monster storm that occurs every 5 or 10 years. Plus we get the occassional 40-50 MPH wind thunderstorms in the summer. Any suggestions are welcome!

·
Member Extraordinaire - Deceased March 2017
3,101 Posts
bontai Joe said:
I've been scrounging materials for a couple of years for a "free" shed. I originally was going to use plywood and asphault shingles for the roof, but those are hard to find free, and plywood prices have skyrocketed. So I've been considering a metal roof. I can scrounge the material for the framing, but I have no experience with metal roofing. What is a good choice to use and how do I fasten it down? Can I mix metal and fiberglass panels to allow in light? And how well does this type of roof do in snow country? We get a typical snow storm dumping 6"-12" 5 or more times a winter with the occassional 12"-24" storm and the rare 24"-36" monster storm that occurs every 5 or 10 years. Plus we get the occassional 40-50 MPH wind thunderstorms in the summer. Any suggestions are welcome!