My Tractor Forum banner
  • Are you passionate about Tractors? Would you like to write about topics that interest you and get paid for it? Read all about it here!
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
189 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to garden tractors and I may purchase a Cub Cadet 1512 which has hydrostatic drive. I understand that the wheels are driven by hydraulic motors which provide adjustable speed and torque and also function as a brake, but I could not find an answer to my question. If one drive wheel is off the ground or slipping freely, does the other wheel get any torque? I looked at a Simplicity Powermax 4040 and the guy said that it did not have a differential lock, so I assume it had a mechanical drive. Maybe this is a dumb question, but I'd like to know. :thanku:

·
Deceased Member
2,027 Posts
... Maybe this is a dumb question, but I'd like to know. :thanku:
The only "dumb question" is one that you don't ask.

That would be a function of the rear end/differential, and not the transmission, so it would depend on the tractor.

Take Bolens for example. All of the Hydrostatic Tube Frames have a "Controlled Differential" that will put power to both sides at all times. The Large Frames do not, and if one wheel slips/spins, the other wheel will not turn.

ETA:
Your best bet would be to pop down to the Cub Cadet Forum and ask those guys. I'm sure that they would be glad to help you out

·
Super Moderator
23,312 Posts
:MTF_wel2: , PStechPaul!!

Hydrostatic drives usually consist of 1 pump and 1 motor, plus periferals to do the job. The motor powers the rear end which includes a differential, similar to a car. The same problems that plague a car also plague GTs when one wheel is in the air.

Limited slip differentials are available for some GT rear ends, as are differential locking devices. The diff locks will cause power to be distributed to both rear wheels, even if one is in the air.