My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
1K Posts and climbing
1,666 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I am in need of some help. I did a search first, but had no luck. My sister has a 2001 PT cruiser with a cracked brake piston, and needs to change the caliper. Since I have never worked on this car before, other than an oil change, I have no idea what tools are required.

Will a gravity bleed be enough, or should she give it a couple of extra on the peddle??

Tips on bleeding would be helpful too.

Would some one on here be able to help out with a list of tools, and a bleeding procedure for her. She lives in Pennsylvania, and we are in Canada.

·
certified tractor nut
1,424 Posts
the caliper bolts most commonly used on chrysler products are 13mm, 10mm, or 8mm allen wrench. best way to bleed is to have her push on the pedal and hold it while she is holding the pedal down open the bleeder screw when the fluid coming out slows to a trickle tighten the bleeder and repeat until all air is out. as far as bleeding procedure on that car it goes like this right rear, then left front, then left rear, and last the right front. most newer cars use what is called a diagonally split system so that if you have a hydraulic failure you will have one wheel on each side of the car that is stoping it. they did this to prevent spinouts in slick conditions when brake failure occurs. almost forgot the bolt that holds the line to the caliper will be something between 10mm - 15mm, sorry its been awhile since i have had to replace a caliper on a pt so i don't remember the exact size. but hopefully i answered all your questions. any more just ask.

·
1K Posts and climbing
1,666 Posts
Discussion Starter #3