My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Treefarm
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was hoping people could tell me the proper RPM to run a diesel tractor or a gas garden tractor for that matter.

I just purchased a Ventrac 3200 with a 23 horse Vanquard Diesel. I will use it primarily for mowing and moving mulch and dirt. This is my first diesel tractor and admittedly I have little experience with oil burners.

It is hydrostatic.

I have tended to run low RPM's in all my equipment except when needed but my dealer told me this unit should be run flat out. Do you all really feel this is correct?

Thanks for any feedback.

·
Tech Nerd Tractor Convert
1,388 Posts
My tractor (gas, not diesel) has hydros (2 of them) and I was told the same thing.. run at "max RPM". Kohler courage v-twin 25 hp engine.

The interesting thing is my dealer and the manufacturer (MTD) don't agree on what "max" is. MTD says 3600 RPM, and my dealer says they set all Cubs to 3200. So I split the difference and run at 3400.

Also MTD says the reason to run at 3600 is that the mowing deck won't produce as good of a result at lower RPMs. They didn't even mention hydro cooling, which I know is the main reason (mow cut quality would be secondary for me).

So maybe take what you get from the mfg with a grain of salt. I'd go with consensus of the board on this one.

·
9K+ Poster
12,160 Posts
toro,

PTO hp with the diesel will be slightly below full throttle. I don't know if you have any markings on your tachometer, but on the Deere tractors, there is a little yellow PTO mark. The PTO rpm will be the best combination of power, economy and longetivity. :)

·
Tech Nerd Tractor Convert
1,388 Posts
Spec sheet for the Ventrac 3200 indicates "operating RPM" to be a range: 1600-3200 RPM. That would seem to suggest it's ok to run at lower than max, but you should check the owner's manual to be sure. OM is on same website but requires a valid serial number, which you would have but I don't.

·
Registered