My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
model# is in sig

so I am new to fixing small engines so bear with me

its a briggs ohv, exhaust on top intake on bottom I believe?

by accident I ordered a exhaust rod

looks the same size and all, should I try it or better to just order another one?

the alum intake rod was only slightly bent, bent enough to throw the rocker off, I bent back and started it back up but was scared it was a bad idea. Is it ok to use the bent back rod for now?

So three options. Use steel rod? Use re bent alum rod? Order a new alum one and save myself the headache?

·
Banned
7,239 Posts
I'm guessing they use steel for the exhaust because it gets hotter than the intake.
Since aluminum has a higher thermal expansion, they probably "lengthen" more equally??

Since the compression release is based on the intake valve clearance being correct, it might make the engine hard to crank when hot if the valve clearance increases???

Just musing here.......

·
Registered
2,392 Posts
My dad had the same confusion with his Troy Bilt single cyl Briggs. We thought it could have something to do with a misfire or something. The weaker aluminum would bend instead of damaging a lifter (if it has them) or gouging the cam.

Bill makes a good point, but the thermal expansion of aluminum is almost twice steels expansion.

·
Registered
1,263 Posts
The pushrods should see equal heat, the rockers get oil sprayed on them that draws away the majority of the heat. Is the aluminum one solid and the steel one hollow? If so, they should be about the same weight, and if they are close enough to the same length that the valve adjustment works, then I can't see any reason why a steel one couldn't be used.