My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm gonna get a John Deere dethatcher for my X738 along with a mount that will allow it to be used on the quick hitch.
To be honest I've never used a Thatcher before and want it because it will allow me more seat time on my new tractor.

Was wondering how many of you dethatch your lawn and if you find it worth while?

Thanks,
Dan

·
Premium Member
3,158 Posts
Likely you need to determine if your lawn needs dethatching. Take a very close look at several areas of your lawn by using your hands to spread apart the grass so you can see the surface of the ground near the grass root system. Is there a large buildup of dead grass matted in there, or not? If there is, then a dethatcher may work well for you. If there isn't, then using a dethatcher may harm the existing root system.

·
Registered
3,779 Posts
that front mounted dethatcher is 4ft wide?
That's not bad.... but the one I use is an acreage rake. Covers a wider swath. But I overlap by 50%, that way each square foot gets effectively 2 passes.

·
Registered
1,011 Posts
I don't know what kind of grass you have but if you have quality cool-season grasses, just about everything I have researched says don't do it. Aerate instead.

·
Registered
3,779 Posts
you can see the rake behind the tractor. it's really made for open spaces... not so good if you have lots of obstacles.
the advantage is that it makes nice windrows that are quick and easy to sweep up with the sweeper.

My neighbour has the front mounted unit and used it while mowing on the first 1-2 mows of the season. That advantage is that if you have a mulching deck, the thatch is ground up and laid back down with the fresh clippings, to rot away as organic matter / grass food.