My Tractor Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Recently I bought a very used flatbed trailer for my recent addition, a JD X595, since this size tractor would not fit into the bed of my F350 like the X300 does. As you can see from the photos below it has an open center section. The remainder is covered with steel diamond plate. Knowing how prone I am to self-injury, I planned to cover the open center death trap. Steel prices are ridiculous and sufficient diamond plate to fill in would cost more than I paid for the trailer, so I decide catwalk steel grating cut to size and welded in place would be a good option. (I am just a beginning Welder, but I learn quickly).

I watched for a couple months the used steel grating available on CL, FBM etc... and the closest I found was about 3 hours away. The next closest was twice that distance, so Saturday morning I headed to Tallahassee (enemy territory in my mind, being a U of Florida graduate). This guy had a stack of grating several feet high and said the pieces were 3 by 20 feet, about twice the size I found elsewhere. I figured he has the grating at his warehouse so surely, he will have a forklift or at least he will be able to help me load this 20-foot-long section of steel, right? I calculated a couple of hours there, 30 minutes to load and pay the guy, lunch and a couple of hours home, right? Surprise! an hour out from Tallahassee I text him my arrival time and he texted back saying he is headed to the football game and has left the grate outside the yard gate, and I can just leave his cash in the office mailbox. Best of all, my sweet Wife is just along for the ride, simply because I promised her a nice lunch afterward for riding along. She has zero interest but 100% tolerance of my projects, my tractors and my other such nonsense.