My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
172 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Ya'll,

Been looking for a Gravely L for a while, and found (and bought) a 5260 during the hunt. These are not too common around my neck of the woods in South Carolina, so forgive my ignorance.

According to the serial number(00300804), I believe it is a 1977. It has a Kohler K181S 6hp engine. It came with a tiller on it.

I got it for $60.00. The engine turns over with the new battery, but the solenoid and switch are bad(had to use a jumper). The carb is frozen solid and will need to be replaced. I imagine the fuel pump is crap as well. The fuel tank needs a good cleaning.

So, where is the best place to start looking for a carb and fuel pump or kit for the pump?? Do they make a solid state ignition or some kind of points eliminator kit for this motor?? Hopefully I will get to tinker with it some more next weekend if I get the time.

I am a heavy equipment mechanic field service tech, so wrenching is no problem, I am just more familiar with deisels and hydraulics.

Thanks in advance!!!

Andy

·
Registered
1,711 Posts
Carb should be salvageable if you drop it in a gallon of chem-dip and leave it in there for a week or so. The choke and throttle plates may stay frozen though and that's where it gets easier to pick up a replacement on Ebay. Carb kits are available pretty much anywhere, I forget the # but any Kohler dealer will probably know it. Also, K181 is an 8 horse. Kohler did make an ignition module to eliminate points, but honestly points don't give you any trouble usually unless the machine sits for a long time. Fuel pump should also be fine, usually they don't go bad from sitting or getting wet. Good luck and welcome to MTF!

·
Registered
172 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·