My Tractor Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
718 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Ok, I'm new to the whole JD scene. I've owned other brands in the past but decided to finally take the plunge. I'm hoping I ordered the right machine for the job. Maybe you guys can help.

I ordered the X300 yesterday. Basically, I have an acre of grass to cut so I really could have bought just about anything and it would have worked fine. The reason I decided to get a JD was the extra work that needs to be done around here. I have about 4 stone retaining walls to build, irrigation system to install, spread about 1/6 acre worth of mulch, completely redo the front flower beds, and install a paver drive from the front of the house to the back of the house. So as you can see, I needed something that could haul a decent amount of material. I plan on hauling around 530lbs up and down a 10-15% grade. I will also be using it to smooth out loose material for the retaining walls (no heavy dirt pushing) but it is red clay.

Did I make the right choice? It's about all I could afford in my budget for the total project. I would have liked to get a x320 or x500 but I'm about flat broke.

Also, do I need to make any modifications right off the bat to help it's performance?

Thanks in advance...

(Edit: I shouldn't have included my weight in the amount I was hauling. I forgot that should be added to the tractor weight and not the load your pulling.)

·
AKA Moses Lawnagan
4,654 Posts
So as you can see, I needed something that could haul a decent amount of material. I plan on hauling around 700lbs up and down a 10-15% grade.

Also, do I need to make any modifications right off the bat to help it's performance?