My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
New to the forum and happy to be here. Im also new to riding mowers. I recently purchased a property on 4 acres. Approximately 2 acres with grass on a descent slope. I have determined that a garden tractor will do, as I will be eventually growing a good amount of food in the area and I would like the help of a garden tractor for various tasks. Hoping if y'all can point me in the right direction of what to get. Ive looked at the John Deere, but not willing to pay the amount for a new one. Thanks in advance for any advice.

·
Registered
1,108 Posts
All equipment is very specialized to your needs , big tractors get used when you need them small tractors get used ever day those are the ones you ride to the mail box .

·
Super Moderator
35,860 Posts
First, welcome to MTF! Lots of info here and great members to help and share with, enjoy the site! Here is some site navigation assistance in case you need it:

·
Premium Member
3,756 Posts
Welcome to the forum! How steep is the slope?

Are you shopping for new, or are you open to used? If used, whereabouts in the country are you, since that will impact pricing, etc. What kind of budget are you planning on?

Those will help give more of a starting point for suggestions.

There are loads of used options, in a variety of ages and price points. You will get much more tractor value if buying used, vs new, but of course you need to shop more carefully when the machine is used. I bought my used GT last year, in great condition with 65 hours, for the price of a basic box-store lawn tractor. But it's far more capable than an entry-level LT.