My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm moving to a much larger yard (2 acres + of mowing) and needed to hunt down a decent riding mower. I looked around at a lot of used JD tractors that I liked but I ended up going to Sears and ordering a YT4000 with the 24 hp briggs twin and 46" deck.

My overkill nature told me to buy a JD X500 but I don't know that I would really use it for more than a mower. Then I looked at some that were like having a car payment. I finally settled on the yt4000 because in reality I'm just cutting grass. Nothing more. It was listed at $1599 and I used the craftsman club card for $25 off plus 10% friends and family deal last weekend. $1460 out the door with 1 year free interest.

Did I buy the right tractor?

·
Registered
4,164 Posts
I'm no expert, but I think you did alright for the money. I've read that some of the older machines are real workhorses and will run forever, but I think that if the Craftsman is all you need, and you take care of it, you'll be fine. Maintenance is the key. Oh, and :Welcome1:

·
The Magnificent
20,952 Posts
Welcome from Spotsylvania, JeffW.

Take good care of it and it should be good for 7-10 years.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks guys. If I can get 5 or more years out of it I think I'll be happy with the amount I paid for it. Seems like it should be good for what I need. I shopped a lot of used first but $500 + for a 5 year old tractor just seemed like a bad deal compared to a new one.

D-Dogg, just down the road from you in Mechanicsville.

·
Super Moderator
29,559 Posts
:Welcome1:

use it for a couple years and then IF you need to trade up, trade up. it would hav ebeen cheaper to do it at first purchase, but in reality if all you do is cut grass on a smooth lot it should do you fine. keep the oil changed, fresh CLEAN filterS(all) on it, and keep anything greaseable greased and it should last you fine.

·
Registered
1,723 Posts