My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all! Just thought I'd introduce myself since I have been evesdropping on the forum for a few months now. I have been looking for an older "tank" to purchase for my 2.5 acres yard for some time now. After looking at some older JD's in the 700-1000 dollar range, I found a older couple selling a Ingy 446, not sure of the year but I'm thinking it's an '83. Runs good, with a bit of smoke when I going up an incline (any thoughts?) the only other issue I found is that the steering is a bit funky, it turns right without a problem (perhaps a little to far) but only turns left about 1/2 as far as I imagine it should. The final issue is that the mower deck 48" dies out under any kind of serious load (wet or thick grass) and the belt will start slipping causing it smoke.

I love this thing and despite those two issues I couldn't pass her up $400.

Any thoughts on the engine on the smoking issue?
Belt size, where to get one or how to tighten the one I have?
I think I got the steering figured out I just need to get underneath and tinker.

Thanks for any advice!

~Paul

·
Retired Aug.31 2007
7,473 Posts
elcome to the forum. Glad you joined us.

·
Registered
1,917 Posts
Paul it sounds like a simple clutch adjustment for the blade stalling thing. Blue smoke could be a sign of a tired engine, but could be nursed back to health as well.

Joel

·
Registered
1,877 Posts
Paul,