My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
143 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to all this "garden tractor" stuff. Prior to last weekend I called these things "riding lawn mowers". I've owned an 89 JD170 for several years.
I just bought an SS15 with some attachments (tiller, plow, front blade, disc, and sicklebar mower). I was originally just looking for a rototiller for my garden but found this and figured it would be fun for my 2 acre property. I was correct, its loads of fun. Within 2 hours of getting it home I had plowed the garden, tilled the garden, and bladed some of the gravel drive. All with a big ole grin on my face!
Everything is in rusted but working order more or less.
I've hit up the net, ebay and such, and ordered up the brake strap and drum. The current drum has ground through the strap, brake pad material long since gone. The drum is pretty grooved so I'll replace it. Also someone buggered up the PTO engagement mechanism so I hit up ebay for that also and its inbound.
I'm at a bit of a loss with the roto-spader. Its all serviceable, gear box and bearings not to loose and rotate smoothly, motor runs fine, ect... But someone has bubba'd up the tiller tines. They have cut off the existing tines and welded on some bent chunks of steel. One of the outer blade sets is missing entirely. Not an issue, I can weld and fab up what I need. But I'm looking for suggestions on tiller tines/blades if anyone's been down this road.
The sicklebar mower is another item I'll have to deal with. The guy I bought it from says it doesn't fit this mower because the running board interferes with part of the mower framework so you cant install the rear mounting pin(s). I bought it from him anyhow just cause it looked cool and I'd never seen one before. Paid $100 for it and the mule drive. So I'm also looking for any suggestions on the sicklebar mower. My tractor doesn't seem to appear on the "fit up guides" I've found.

Tractor 917.25381