My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
W5CPT
190 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a complete novice when it comes to welding so I need some advice. Here is the situation: I have a Lincoln 225 AC welder and a friend gave me a sealed metal tube of welding rods with which to practice. They came from a local facility that throws away rods that are out of date, which they can not use on Government projects. The rods are 310-16, which when you look them up gives the following data.

E 310-16

Manufacturer Lincoln Electric Co -------Trade_name STAINWELD 310-16

This stick electrode is ideal for welding type 310 steels.May also be used to weld many dissimilar metal joints such as carbon steel or low alloy steel to stainless steel.Good all-position electrode,with exceptional vertical-up capabilities.Not recommended for vertical down. Stainweld 310-16 operates well on both DC+and AC. Exceptional vertical up welding capability.

TYPICAL APPLICATIONS A 25%chromium,20%nickel grade coated electrode,ideal for welding type 310 steels. May also be used to weld dissimilar metal joints such as carbon steel or low alloy steel to stainless steel.

So the question is, can I use these rods for "regular" welding or will they add a level of difficulty I really don't want just starting out?

·
Banned
297 Posts
Well sure you can use them on plain old steel,but they are a stainless rod,and won't run as good as a rod made for steel that is made to run on ac current[about all rods that I know of run better on dc even the ac rods,some you can't run worth a dang on ac,but some are made to be used on ac],plus you might have a cracking problem,plus,,,plus,,and not good rods for you to learn on.

So go to a welding supply place and tell them you want some 3/32 dia ac rods[probably something like 6011 or 6013],I don't use ac rods,probably lowes has them,don't get 7018 or 6010,they are a dc rod.

·
Retired Super Moderator - Deceased September 2015
26,679 Posts