My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've read a lot of threads on this forum and see there are some really knowledgeable people here. Please be easy on me as I'm a noob...

I just purchased a 16G can having some troubles determining the year of the tractor as well as the spec of the engine.

Can anyone tell me what year my 16G was made? I noticed the emblems on the front cover are not the same as most posts of 16G's. Most of the one's I see say "professional" on them. The only ID tag that I can find is inside the dash panel and it shows 43780. I cant seem to find a serial number anywhere. Would there be any serial numbers stamped on the frame?

The engine is a Kohler M16 but it does not have an oil filter and the spec sticker is missing. Most of the gravely manuals refer to the M16 as a single cylinder not a twin. It has the flat square air filter. I'm hoping to find out more infor about the M16 so I can order the correct parts. I hope this info and pictures help.

My grandfather and father have owned Gravely's, mostly mid to late 70's 812's. This is the first G in our family. I'm proud to now be a Gravely owner myself.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
3,311 Posts
Welcome,

OK, first thing, the engine. I know those info stickers on those Kohler's can be hard to read when old, but your engine is not an M16, it is an M18.

Kohler did not make a 16 HP horizontal engine in the Magnum twin series, but they labeled them 16 HP for GRAVELY and left off the oil filter. They also labeled the same engine 15 HP for some Cub Cadet models. Your engine is 18 HP and the oil filter is easily added.

Someone re-did the decals.

That tractor is an early Professional G series because it has a hand control, right hand brake and transmission driven hydraulic lift - 1987, 88?