My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am brand new to tractors...
Recently purchased a JD 5095M. Will use to maintain property that our family has. Food plot prep & maintenance (both deer & upland bird), skidding logs, plowing snow, clearing additional food plots, clearing and maintaining logging & hiking trails.
Attachments
JD Bucket Loader
JD Snow plow blade
Kverneland 3 bottom plow
disc harrow
Wallenstein logging winch

Aside from the owners' manuals, can any one recommend any good reading material on plowing, harrowing, field prep etc. Not just field prep but also proper attachment adjustment & usage. I know that book knowledge is no substitute for experience, but am looking for some references, books, reading materials to get me started, avoid damaging the equipment too badly and avoiding bodily harm, or at least irreparable bodily harm.

Thanks,

·
Just passing through
8,422 Posts
I am brand new to tractors...
Recently purchased a JD 5095M. Will use to maintain property that our family has. Food plot prep & maintenance (both deer & upland bird), skidding logs, plowing snow, clearing additional food plots, clearing and maintaining logging & hiking trails.
Attachments
JD Bucket Loader
JD Snow plow blade
Kverneland 3 bottom plow
disc harrow
Wallenstein logging winch

Aside from the owners' manuals, can any one recommend any good reading material on plowing, harrowing, field prep etc. Not just field prep but also proper attachment adjustment & usage. I know that book knowledge is no substitute for experience, but am looking for some references, books, reading materials to get me started, avoid damaging the equipment too badly and avoiding bodily harm, or at least irreparable bodily harm.

Thanks,
http://www.deere.com/en_US/compinfo/publications/john_deere_publishing/complete.html

you may be interested in these...;)
Combine Harvesting