My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I love running over everything possible with my x530. I've been doing it for 5 years or so. I've finally broke my mower.

Is this something I can fix on my own? Whats the part called?

Thanks!

·
4,174 Posts

·
Super Moderator
28,851 Posts
Since you are going to have to replace the spindle a grinder to take those heads off would be the easiest way. Make sure to pick up 3 new spindle bolts for it as well.

·
Registered
788 Posts
An X5 spindle should have 4 bolts. IIRC GX22456

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Never used a grinder before. It seems like even if i grind it off I'm still gonna need to get those bolts off that are attached directly to the deck. Do i just grind the bolts off as well?

·
Registered
788 Posts
Oops.. assumed your spindle was held with the same self tappers as my X540, which is not the case. Based on the parts illustration, there's locknuts up on top of those bolts. If you look at the top of your deck, you can likely just take those nuts off and be all set.

·
Super Moderator
28,851 Posts
Never used a grinder before. It seems like even if i grind it off I'm still gonna need to get those bolts off that are attached directly to the deck. Do i just grind the bolts off as well?

If you grind them off at the bottom (red arrow) you will only need to take the nut off the top of the pulley (blue circle) then drive the spindle out, it should fall out the bottom.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Thank you so much for your diagram!

Seems like an impact driver might be a better fit here? Especially if I want to change the blades an I dont have a grinder

·
Registered
305 Posts