My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to MTF but have been lurking around reading a lot of the great information available on this site from the technical to the amusing and figured it was time to get some feedback. I'll apologize now for the long winded post

I'm looking at purchasing a used lawn tractor and I'm really hopeful that someone can steer me one way or the other with logical pros and cons, or at least tell me to flip a coin that they are basically the same machines. I looked at the new machines at the big box stores but for the price of those they just seemed flimsy and poorly constructed, and I'm really keen on a good engine so I'm leaning used, which you'll see below (budget is also a concern...)

First off, the intended purpose
I have about 1/2 acre or 3/4 acre of relatively flat residential yard, no ditches, stumps, or timber to speak of. I already have a snow blower and no need for tilling or tearing out stumps. Just need something that can pull a small thatcher and mow the yard clean and flat with some degree of reliablility that with regular maintenance will last for a while

First up
2001 Husqvarna YTH1542xp
15 HP Kawasaki dual cylinder
486 hours
42" deck with the bagger (I probably won't use the bagger ever)
$995 + tax
They are taking it into the shop this week to look at the hydro and deck, sharpen blades, etc.
It is a good machine, clean and the engine was immaculate

Next
2001 JD LT155
16 HP Kohler Command single cylinder
No hour meter, but the person who traded it in bought it new at the dealership and live in town so it wasn't used for farming or running up hills or anything
38" deck
$950 + tax
They already changed all the oil, sharpened blades, cleaned and changed the filters, etc
It is also a good machine, and I'm looking at it tomorrow

Third
2007 JD L111
20 HP B&S V-Twin dual cylinder
130 hours
Individual seller, lawn is pretty flat but big though it appears taken care of