My Tractor Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm brand new to tractors (is this considered a tractor?), and today I bought my first one. The sell ad is posted below. I brought it home, fired it up, and cut my grass. I have 13 acres, mostly wooded, with about 2 acres to cut. I'm hoping to pick up a tiller and blade eventually as well. I'll confess that I did not do much research at all before buying. Did I do okay? Any wisdom you can share about the 110 would be appreciated.

Here's the ad. I paid $425.
John Deere 110 Lawn and Garden Tractor. Made in Summer 1973. Type: T063. Serial #: 289121M. 10 hp Kohler engine. 40" cut. Includes JD Operator's Manual OMM46869 L2, a copy of the SM2088 (Nov 1969) Service Manual & Parts List. We bought this riding lawn mower from the original owner in 1998. Used until 2007 to mow the lawn. Mostly original. Always stored in a garage. Nice condition. Normal wear and tear, showing some signs of use (repaired seat, etc.). Front tires new in 2007. Replaced PTO Clutch, muffler, and belts in last four years. Repaired mower-deck pulleys and rebuilt carburetor about five years ago. Changed oil, cleaned deck and greased fittings every season.

·
Registered
873 Posts
Good luck with it! It it can handle all those acres you got one deal! Keep us posted on how it goes

·
Registered
193 Posts
Congrats!!! I think you did just great!!!

Enjoy!! :thThumbsU

·
Registered
1,890 Posts
Ummm, I think John deeres are tractors or do they just make kids toys.:sidelaugh

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Ummm, I think John deeres are tractors or do they just make kids toys.:sidelaugh
The terminology I've seen here like lawn tractor, garden tractor, etc. is a little confusing to a newbie. Just tryin' to get it right.

Here's my first actual question: What is the actual deck size and blade size? The seller had 40" in the ad, but I don't see any blades offered in that size.

·
Super Moderator
16,355 Posts