My Tractor Forum banner
  • Are you passionate about Tractors? Would you like to write about topics that interest you and get paid for it? Read all about it here!
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Plant Wheel Tire Vehicle Motor vehicle

I'm a mechanic and de facto junk collector. A year or so ago I was replacing an engine in a pickup out of my little home shop and the customer dropped off a replacement engine when I really wasn't ready for it and I had nowhere to put it but in the dirt, far from the shop. I later took apart my engine hoist and temporarily rigged it (poorly) onto the 2" hitch of a pickup because i HATE moving engines across dirt/gravel. It worked, but I didn't want to do it again and figured I should spring the ~$120 for a 'truck bed crane' from Harbor Freight. A little while after I got ambitious about moving all my 'projects that havent been started yet' engines (about 7) from one place to another, again across dirt/gravel. The truck wouldn't have fit everywhere between those two places and gotten me all the way from A to B, so I started to think about alternatives and came up with something a little wacky: Why not put the truck bed crane on the front of a riding lawnmower? "If it didn't work I could still put it on the truck" I told myself in justification. Thus, pandora's box was opened. I googled 'crane mower' pics and found a TINY number of examples, none of which i liked because they all seemed like they'd either fold up with 150lbs on them, or were massive overbuilt forklift contraptions which seemed like too much effort into what I considered a borderline 'bad' idea. I figured I could do something simply enough to either work 'well enough', or quickly disprove the concept so I could bolt that same crane onto the truck it was meant for and forget all about it.